Connect with us


Ecuador Legalizes Same-Sex Marriage Equality

The South American country takes a step forward towards queer progress.

Duane Paul Murphy College Media Network



The Constitutional Court of Ecuador in South America on Wednesday, June 12 officially legalized and recognized same-sex marriage equality for LGBTQIA+ couples in a 5 to 4 legal decision made by its nine judges. Before the ruling, civil unions between queer couples were permitted and recognized, but with fewer rights such as limited inheritance and estate laws.

Ecuador now joins other Latin American countries that have legalized same-sex marriage equality including Brazil, Argentina, Uruguay, Colombia, Costa Rica, and more than 30 states in Mexico. While Ecuador enjoys other queer rights such as anti-discrimination laws and a ban on conversion therapy, other issues such as joint-couple adoption.

Jumpstart a career doing something you are passionate about with one of College Media Network’s courses. Read about our current offerings, schedule and unique virtual learning environment here.

Duane Paul Murphy is a D.C. college graduate and freelance journalist born and raised in Southern California. He obtained a bachelor of art’s in politics and a minor in media studies, Duane Paul is interested in covering domestic as well as international political affairs that impact the lives of everyday people, whether they are young students, professionals, or faculty in higher education.

Great Reads

1 Step 1

Copyright © 2020 College Media Network