Connect with us

Essentials

In my Opinion, I Already Know it’s Your Opinion

You only have readers for a short period of time, don’t waste it by telling them something they already know.

Patrick Foster

Published

on

Instructor’s Desk is a recurring CMN feature providing insights from our instructors on every aspect of online education. You can browse all of the Instructor’s Desk columns here.

This gets to the heart of communication as we near the end of the second decade of the 2000s: We are constantly bombarded with information as we go through our days — even when we sleep it’s piling up for us to check on as soon as we wake up, phone in hand — it’s important to remember that you should approach the age-old skill of writing in the same way you deal with those relatively new platforms for our thoughts: Twitter, Insta and Snapchat. Yeah, even TikTok.

There are lots of variations on the theme: “Me, personally,” “In my view,” “But speaking just for myself,” the list goes on.

CMN Instructor Patrick Foster (Photo: Joe Drennan)

During my work with students in CMN’s Music Journalism Course, I find myself reminding aspiring critics that there is no need for them to tell readers that something in their work comes from “personal opinion.”

Meaning when you write a review, offer a hot take or compile a ranking of your favorite versions of “Old Town Road,” remember that the reader assumes it’s your opinion and you are solely responsible for the content. Just like a post on your Instagram, I understand it’s what you think, not anyone else.

So don’t waste your precious word count telling your readers it’s you that’s doing the thinking. When they see your name on the byline, they know that.

And personally, in my opinion anyway — and these are just my own views here — when I take the time to read something you wrote, I already know where you’re coming from.

The bottom line? You only have readers attention for a short period of time, don’t waste it by telling them something they already know.

[]
1 Step 1

Enter your email to get a weekly digest of posts from CMN's Instructor's Desk

keyboard_arrow_leftPrevious
Nextkeyboard_arrow_right

Jumpstart a career doing something you are passionate about with one of College Media Network’s courses. Read about our current offerings, schedule and unique virtual learning environment here.

Patrick Foster is the Executive Editor of College Media Network. He's has been a journalist for over 20 years, working for wide variety of publications, including The Washington Post, Time Out and SPIN. He is the co-host of the music podcast Rockin' the Suburbs.

CMN Music

Music3 days ago

Album Review: Tamino – ‘Amir (Deluxe)’

An expanded edition that offers poetic drama from beginning to end.

Music3 weeks ago

What Makes A Scary Song? Three Things Every Spooky Tune Needs

Genuinely scary sounds, an unsettling story, or just party jams with eerie sound effects?

Music3 weeks ago

React: Paste Magazine’s Best Albums of the 2010’s List

It's difficult for any one person to approach a list with complete objectivity,

CMN Vibes3 weeks ago

CMN Vibes: Spooky Season

The only playlist you'll need as Halloween gets closer.

Music1 month ago

4 Places to Read Great Music Journalism

Where to find great, free music writing and journalism on the web.

Essentials2 months ago

Four Useful Spotify Features for Music Writers: Part One

Tips, tricks and cool shortcuts to deepen your knowledge.

Music2 months ago

‘We’ll Carry On’: Examining the Legacy of Rock in the 2000s

The seeds planted by these bands are the reason rock will thrive for generations.

Music2 months ago

Man Arrested in Connection of Death of Rapper Mac Miller

28 year old Cameron James Pettit was arrested today on allegations of supplying deceased rapper Mac Miller with lethal drugs....

Music2 months ago

5 Things You’ll Quickly Learn After Moving From the USA to New Zealand

So you graduate college without any real career plan and decide to spend a year bartending so you can travel...

Music3 months ago

Review: Captain Beefheart, “Hair Pie: Bake 2”

An odd intrigue.

Essentials3 months ago

4 Podcasts Every Music Writer Should be Familiar With

Music journalists these days need to listen to a whole lot more than just music.

Music3 months ago

Cocaine and Rhinestones – Breaking Down Merle Haggard’s ‘Okie from Muskogee’

Tyler Mahan Coe brings the facts and the feel of history.

Music3 months ago

Track Review: Pool Kids – ‘$5 Subtweet’

Diving into a new age of confrontation.

by , SUNY Brockport
Music3 months ago

Hip-Hop’s Most Influential Artists of the Last Half -Decade

Drake, Migos, Travis Scott and more make the list.

by , SUNY Brockport
Music3 months ago

Podcast Review: The Needledrop: How To Get Into Death Grips

Dominick Rabrun joins Anthony Fantano for some intense chat.

Music3 months ago

Liily: Aiming to Turn the Music Industry Upside Down

California band is on the way up and has new music due out this fall.

Music3 months ago

Interview with Singer Natalie Clark

A CMN Q&A that touches on playing guitar, growing up in Glasgow, and being starstruck on 'The Voice.'

Essentials3 months ago

5 Essential Websites for Music Journalists

Great sources to confirm facts or come up with story ideas.

Music3 months ago

Brockhampton Announces New Album and Releases New Song

Brockhampton announced that their new album Ginger will be available on all platforms August 23. The budding rap group simultaneously...

Music3 months ago

Hot 100 Hometown Heat Map: Which State Makes the Most Hits?

Find where your favorite music comes from.

Music3 months ago

Podcast Review: ‘This Sounds Better’

A great podcast that covers key points important to engineers and producers.

by , Albright College
Music3 months ago

Podcast Review: Machine Gun Kelly on the CMN Podcast

Professional and informative.

by , SUNY Brockport

Great Reads

[]
1 Step 1
keyboard_arrow_leftPrevious
Nextkeyboard_arrow_right

Copyright © 2019 College Media Network